What means that you can journey throughout 29 international locations and not using a passport?

Free movement – the right to live, study, work and retire anywhere in the EU – is possibly the most tangible achievement of European integration. With the establishment of the Schengen area in 1995, checks were abolished at the EU’s internal borders.

Today, the Schengen area includes most EU countries, except for Ireland, which maintains an opt-out and operates its own common travel area with the UK, as well as Cyprus, which is currently undergoing the evaluation process to assess its readiness to join the area.

Four non-EU countries – Iceland, Norway, Switzerland and Liechtenstein – have also joined the Schengen area.

Check here for more information: https://europa.eu/!myKC9J

#europeanparliament #europeanunion #shorts #schengen #noborders #openborders