Katalin Kariko and Drew Weissman win Nobel Prize in Medicine | DW News

The Nobel Prize in Medicine 2023 goes to Katalin Kariko and Drew Weissman for their work that enabled the development of effective mRNA vaccines against COVID-19.

Through their findings on how mRNA interacts with our immune system Hungary’s Kariko and US’ Weissman "contributed to the unprecedented rate of vaccine development during one of the greatest threats to human health in modern times," the Nobel jury in Stockholm said.

It’s the second year in a row that the medicine Nobel Prize is awarded to researchers who have been tackling questions regarding the novel coronavirus pandemic. In 2022, the award went to Swedish scientist Svante Paabo whose discoveries concerning Neanderthal DNA provided key insights into the human immune system, including vulnerability to severe COVID-19.

Subscribe: https://www.youtube.com/user/deutschewelleenglish?sub_confirmation=1

For more news go to: http://www.dw.com/en/
Follow DW on social media:
►Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/deutschewellenews/
►Twitter: https://twitter.com/dwnews
►Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/dwnews
►Twitch: https://www.twitch.tv/dwnews_hangout
Für Videos in deutscher Sprache besuchen Sie: https://www.youtube.com/dwdeutsch

#nobelprize #medicine #mRNA